Freedom

I had been running all night 

Only the night was safe 

They were everywhere 

Foul Angry determination 

Yet ours an earnest cry 

A cry for justice for all

The people of Kenya 

Inequality injustice 

Was a yoke of servitude

We had to be unshackled 
I stumble in the under growth 

I am bruised scratched exhausted 

I am broken of heart and mind 

On bended knees I cry

Oh lord give me a sign

There before me is light

A sign yes to carry on 

I forge ahead to the cave 

There in the tree to hide 

Safe all our ammunition 


Violence is not my nature

Yet I have no other way 

Forgive me Oh Lord 

Much blood is shed 

Innocent heads roll

But finally we arrive 

Our flag unfurled 

So we can stand

Our heads held high

Now we visit the site

Karura our forest 

Regained and proud

The caves etched 

In perpetuity to recall

The struggle we sustain

To gain that is right 


Here is our treasure 

Beauty regained 

The river freely flows 

The trees stand proud 

Give back to the people

Of Kenya it’s inheritance 

Bridging the past present 

We walk we breath in

The birds nest and safe

The crowned eagle now 

Majestic in its forest 

Now regained forever 

Little hands come now

To treasure the forest

With Reiki hands to sew

To plant and water anew 

Seeds of future joy hope 

Give back to earth again

That God had granted 

In his mighty abundance 

Of all sentient beings 

Being but from one source 

4 thoughts on “Freedom

  1. Karura in its captivating glory enthuses a huge habitat to many. Shariffa Ji you have beautifully expressed your thoughts in poetry. The words of Makimei children echo in my mind when they wondered whom did it belong to. The vastness of Karura was unfathomable to those innocent minds.

    Like

  2. Thank you for sharing very thoughtful & thought provoking pictures and poem.
    The picture that really got me thinking about the impact of history was the children planting the seedling: in Karura. I thought of the “lessons” that come to us from the past, seeing our own present lives in the context of that past, and “planting” hope for the future.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

