The Path

The dappled path invites me
The smell of fresh rain calls
Scent of stirred soil rising
Something ahead beckons
It calls me now to explore
There is something afoot

The aloes with their spikes
Flung out in full abandon
The aloe Vera tall in pride
The succulent silver leaves
Set off the peachy orange
There is something afoot

The paving tapers off
Ahead the haze of bushes
Creates secret temptation
Where to it softly asks me
And I tempted to respond
Some mystery lies ahead

Branches join in safe canopy
I bend invite the soft touch
The soothing rustle of leaves
Rain drops damped my nape
It is refreshing spontaneous
What is it that lies just ahead

On the path could be traps
I will work get over the traps
There may be a snare too
But as I am mindful I will
Go on and see to the end
Where the sun always shines

It is the visage of my friend
So long since I last set eyes
Upon that dear one so close
I am filled with softened joy
The meeting is long awaited
Ahead is a special longing

Only a canopy of wet leaves
A path of wet paving stones
Stirs up the beating heart
Awakens the soft memories
A special time spent together
There is a stirring of memory
In my heart
Shariffa Keshavjee
J

Leave a comment